Veterinarian pay in Indiana
Veterinarians in Indiana: $90,000 to $156,000 a year in job ads
From 26 job ads at 20 employers, updated Oct 15, 2026
Hourly and yearly ads, kept apart
Posted yearly
$90,000 to $156,000
26 ads, median $134,000
Each range runs from the 10th to the 90th percentile of the ads' stated pay (the middle of each ad's range). An ad that states no unit is not counted, and hourly is never converted to yearly.
Pay by metro
| Metro | Posted range | Ads | BLS median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood, IN | $101,000 to $158,000 a year | 7 | $127,850 |
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN | $90,000 to $172,000 a year | 17 | $148,730 |
Only metros with 5 or more ads are shown. BLS medians are May 2025.
What the jobs offer
8%
CE allowance, 14 of 185 ads
22%
mentorship, 41 of 185 ads
6%
new grads welcome, 11 of 185 ads
2%
four-day week, 3 of 185 ads
3%
signing bonus, 6 of 185 ads
Counted only where the ad's own words say it, Oct 15, 2026.
Hiring now in Indiana
- Associate Veterinarian at GPAC, MitchellPay not stated
- Associate Veterinarian at Elwood Animal Hospital, Elwood$120,000 to $140,000 a year
- Associate Veterinarian at GPAC, GreenwoodPay not stated
Questions
What does a veterinarian make in Indiana?
Job ads in Indiana offer veterinarians $90,000 to $156,000 a year, median $134,000, from 26 ads at 20 employers (Oct 15, 2026). The BLS median for veterinarians in Indiana was $124,530 a year in May 2025.
How does Indiana compare with the US?
The median veterinarian job ad in Indiana offers $134,000 a year (26 ads), $6,000 less than the US median of $140,000 (2,447 ads), as of Oct 15, 2026.
Which Indiana cities pay veterinarians the most?
In job ads, the Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood, IN area has the highest median for veterinarians, $155,000 a year from 7 ads. Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN: $135,000 (17 ads). Only metros with 5 or more ads are counted (Oct 15, 2026).
What benefits do veterinarian jobs in Indiana offer?
Of 185 veterinarian ads in Indiana, 14 mention a CE allowance, 41 mention mentorship, 11 mention welcoming new grads, 3 mention a four-day week, 6 mention a signing bonus, as of Oct 15, 2026. Only what the ad itself says is counted.
Job-ad pay is read from employers' own job feeds and careers pages, each figure kept with the ad's own sentence. See also how often vets leave their practice or add your pay anonymously.