Vet tech pay in New York
Vet techs in New York: $24 to $41 an hour in job ads
From 183 job ads at 96 employers, updated Oct 15, 2026
Hourly and yearly ads, kept apart
Posted hourly
$24 to $41
183 ads, median $32
Each range runs from the 10th to the 90th percentile of the ads' stated pay (the middle of each ad's range). An ad that states no unit is not counted, and hourly is never converted to yearly.
Pay by metro
| Metro | Posted range | Ads | BLS median |
|---|---|---|---|
| New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ | $31 to $41 an hour | 29 | $28.69 |
| Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY | $22 to $34 an hour | 8 | $24.09 |
Only metros with 5 or more ads are shown. BLS medians are May 2025.
What the jobs offer
17%
CE allowance, 64 of 369 ads
19%
mentorship, 69 of 369 ads
4%
new grads welcome, 15 of 369 ads
1%
four-day week, 2 of 369 ads
8%
signing bonus, 28 of 369 ads
Counted only where the ad's own words say it, Oct 15, 2026.
Hiring now in New York
- Full-Time Licensed Veterinary Technician - Heart of Brooklyn Veterinary Hospital - Flatbush at PetVet Care Centers, BrooklynPay not stated
- Veterinary Technician at Veterinary Practice Partners, Levittown$25 to $34 an hour
- Licensed Veterinary Technician at Village Animal Hospital, LarchmontPay not stated
Questions
What does a vet tech make in New York?
Job ads in New York offer vet techs $24 to $41 an hour, median $32, from 183 ads at 96 employers (Oct 15, 2026). The BLS median for vet techs in New York was $28.37 an hour in May 2025.
How does New York compare with the US?
The median vet tech job ad in New York offers $32 an hour (183 ads), $5 more than the US median of $27 (2,497 ads), as of Oct 15, 2026.
Which New York cities pay vet techs the most?
In job ads, the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area has the highest median for vet techs, $38 an hour from 29 ads. Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY: $23 (8 ads). Only metros with 5 or more ads are counted (Oct 15, 2026).
What benefits do vet tech jobs in New York offer?
Of 369 vet tech ads in New York, 64 mention a CE allowance, 69 mention mentorship, 15 mention welcoming new grads, 2 mention a four-day week, 28 mention a signing bonus, as of Oct 15, 2026. Only what the ad itself says is counted.
Job-ad pay is read from employers' own job feeds and careers pages, each figure kept with the ad's own sentence. See also how often vets leave their practice or add your pay anonymously.